Educational Committee (Opleidingscommissie)

The educational committee represents the opinion of all students and staff on the educational programs offered. The committee is a joint committee as the closely related programs MSc Chemistry and MSc Life Science and Technology both organised by the Leiden Institute of Chemistry share many educational aspects. As much entrepeneurial activities are life sciences related the educational aspects of the specialisation Science Based Business are also discussed in this educational committee.

In the committee many aspects of the programs are discussed and surveys of individual courses are reviewed. Changes in the program and procedures and new initiatives are often initiated by discussions in the educational committee. Every year the student representation is renewed, the assessors of the study associations CDL and SV Life attend the meetings. The educational committee is an important feedback for the program directors who regularly attend the meetings.

Composition of the educational committee (staff)

Chair Chemistry
Dr. Sylvestre Bonnet

Chair Life Science and Technology
Dr. Nora Goosen

Staff members on the committee
Dr. F. Buda
Dr. R. Olsthoorn
Dr. J. Meyer
Dr. R. Boot
Dr. H. Jousma (program director SBB specialisation)

Secretary Dr. Maxim Kuil (program coordinator, non member)

Composition of the educational committee (student representation)

MSc Chemistry
Emma Cleary
Dajo Boden
Jaco Lugthart

MSc Life Science and Technology
Marlize van Breugel
Folkert Kan
Tyrza van Leeuwen

Representative for the SBB students

Assessor Life: Hessel van der Eijk (
Assessor CDL: Marten Raaphorst (

Discover the world at Leiden University